Search Engine Optimization News, Tips and Information

Information on search engine optimization strategies for business.

Tuesday, May 27, 2008

Actually, It Can Get Lower. Gambert "" Sock Puppet Busted Attacking ArteWorks Charities

I had to cut off my last blog post to break this sad news about Jason Gambert. Thanks to a trap that was set by Michael VanDeMar and myself, we have Gambert again. And it is sickening. He is now contacting the innocent charities that ArteWorks SEO supports, under the false name of "", and asking for information. We have the proof. Here it is.
It began today when I received an email from my friends at Mission Possible in Austin. This is a 501(c)3 nonprofit Christian organization which provides ministry and meals to the homeless. The email I received was forwarded from my contact at MP and was purportedly from an "SEO Investigator" and here it is in its entirety (more info below the email, keep reading):

-----Original Message-----
From: []
Sent: Tuesday, May 27, 2008 2:27 PM
To: mp@NAME
Subject: Someone has contacted you from your website

NAME: Checking Up On Credibility
DATE/TIME SENT: 5/27/2008 1:26:35 PM

We recently are just checking up on a few companies honesty and integrity.
We would just like to know if you have record of "" truly providing "1000" meals per month like they say they do.


The Seo Investigator Team

I would like to have more information.

This is an automated response from WWW.MPAUSTIN.ORG

Okay so that is what was sent. It was sent from a web form, and the recipient is a charity who is not savvy, and so basically we have no headers or anything, just an email address "".

Well thank God I posted an alert about this on SEOMOZ because it didn't take an hour for Michael VanDeMar to contact me.

He said we could catch Gambert again if I wanted to. I agreed, but said nothing illegal. So this is what happened: Mike sent a test email to "" which said the following:

To whom it may concern,
We understand that you were looking for information regarding the so called "seo experts" firm known as ArteWorks. We think there is some information you may find relevant to your investigation at the following address:

I hope this helps.
Better Mortgage Refinancing

Man Gambert is like a hungry dog. He couldn't wait. Within an hour, I had an email from Mike asking me, "did you click on the link?"

I said, "Hell, no!"

He said, I got the proof. And here it is, ladies and gentleman. The "" who has been FRIGGIN CONTACTING MY CLIENTS AND CHARITIES is as follows, and I do not apologize for the language in the least because I am more than happy to file a lawsuit RIGHT NOW against that little sh*t for fraud, tortious interference with business, and anything else which he has is the proof, from our IM conversation:

Michael VanDeMar says:
he took the bait tho
Michael VanDeMar says:
You didn't hit that link, did you?

Michael VanDeMar just sent you a nudge.

Matt Foster says:
Matt Foster says:
i did not
Matt Foster says:
i deleted it
Matt Foster says:
the email
Michael VanDeMar says:
Same IP.
Michael VanDeMar says: - - [27/May/2008:23:29:21 -0500] "GET /beware-arteworks.html HTTP/1.1" 404 1085 "-" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 5.1; Embedded Web Browser from:; .NET CLR 1.0.3705; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; Media Center PC 3.1)"
Michael VanDeMar says:
Stupid fu***er, ain't he?

I'm sorry, but does anybody recognize the friggin IP address but me here?


At 5/28/2008 08:18:00 AM , Anonymous Rhea Drysdale said...

I am intimately familiar with that IP address. It's Mr. Gambert. I'm sorry to see him stoop to this level. Pursuing charities you've worked with has to violate some law. Please address this with the USPTO.

At 5/28/2008 10:59:00 AM , Blogger Jimmy James said...

Nice trap! Simple and effective.

Well done.

At 5/28/2008 02:43:00 PM , Anonymous Dana Lookadoo said...

God be his judge for stooping this low!

I thought Mr. Lambert would have stopped at his silly "thumbs downs" on SEOMoz. He psycho!

Okay, I'm motivated to take the opposite approach now and contact your charity to make a pledge! Consider it done.


Post a Comment

<< Home