Search Engine Optimization News, Tips and Information

Information on search engine optimization strategies for business.

Tuesday, May 27, 2008

Actually, It Can Get Lower. Gambert "seoinvestigator@gmail.com" Sock Puppet Busted Attacking ArteWorks Charities

I had to cut off my last blog post to break this sad news about Jason Gambert. Thanks to a trap that was set by Michael VanDeMar and myself, we have Gambert again. And it is sickening. He is now contacting the innocent charities that ArteWorks SEO supports, under the false name of "seoinvestigator@gmail.com", and asking for information. We have the proof. Here it is.
It began today when I received an email from my friends at Mission Possible in Austin. This is a 501(c)3 nonprofit Christian organization which provides ministry and meals to the homeless. The email I received was forwarded from my contact at MP and was purportedly from an "SEO Investigator" and here it is in its entirety (more info below the email, keep reading):

-----Original Message-----
From: seoinvestigator@gmail.com [mailto:seoinvestigator@gmail.com]
Sent: Tuesday, May 27, 2008 2:27 PM
To: mp@NAME REMOVED.com
Subject: Someone has contacted you from your website

NAME: Checking Up On Credibility
DATE/TIME SENT: 5/27/2008 1:26:35 PM
MESSAGE:
Hi,

We recently are just checking up on a few companies honesty and integrity.
We would just like to know if you have record of "Arteworks.biz" truly providing "1000" meals per month like they say they do.

www.arteworks.biz


Sincerely,


The Seo Investigator Team

I would like to have more information.

*****************************************************
This is an automated response from WWW.MPAUSTIN.ORG
*****************************************************


Okay so that is what was sent. It was sent from a web form, and the recipient is a charity who is not savvy, and so basically we have no headers or anything, just an email address "seoinvestigator@gmail.com".

Well thank God I posted an alert about this on SEOMOZ because it didn't take an hour for Michael VanDeMar to contact me.

He said we could catch Gambert again if I wanted to. I agreed, but said nothing illegal. So this is what happened: Mike sent a test email to "seoinvestigator@gmail.com" which said the following:

To whom it may concern,
We understand that you were looking for information regarding the so called "seo experts" firm known as ArteWorks. We think there is some information you may find relevant to your investigation at the following address:

http://www.DOMAIN-NAME-REMOVED.com/beware-arteworks.html

I hope this helps.
Better Mortgage Refinancing


Man Gambert is like a hungry dog. He couldn't wait. Within an hour, I had an email from Mike asking me, "did you click on the link?"

I said, "Hell, no!"

He said, I got the proof. And here it is, ladies and gentleman. The "seoinvestigator@gmail.com" who has been FRIGGIN CONTACTING MY CLIENTS AND CHARITIES is as follows, and I do not apologize for the language in the least because I am more than happy to file a lawsuit RIGHT NOW against that little sh*t for fraud, tortious interference with business, and anything else which he has done...anyway...here is the proof, from our IM conversation:

Michael VanDeMar says:
he took the bait tho
Michael VanDeMar says:
You didn't hit that link, did you?

Michael VanDeMar just sent you a nudge.

Matt Foster says:
no
Matt Foster says:
i did not
Matt Foster says:
i deleted it
Matt Foster says:
the email
Michael VanDeMar says:
Same IP.
Michael VanDeMar says:
67.188.25.114 - - [27/May/2008:23:29:21 -0500] "GET /beware-arteworks.html HTTP/1.1" 404 1085 "-" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 5.1; Embedded Web Browser from: http://bsalsa.com/; .NET CLR 1.0.3705; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; Media Center PC 3.1)"
Michael VanDeMar says:
Stupid fu***er, ain't he?


I'm sorry, but does anybody recognize the friggin IP address but me here?



Read more!

Federal Prison for Jason Gambert?

Jason Gambert has once again perjured himself, and this time it can be proven. That is in a court of The Patent and Trademark Office of the United States of America. That, my friends, is a Federal crime. Don't bend over for the soap, son.
Sarah Bird at SEOMOZ provides a succinct and quite entertaining synopsis if you haven't been following the case. If you have, then you already know things keep getting lower, even when you think they cannot.

I am going to be succinct and zero in on the criminal acts I believe have been committed by Jason Gambert. For the record, since he always threatens to sue me, this is only an OP-ED piece, which means, sir, this is an OPINION piece. Okay? Check the first amendment before you email me about this.

The following paragraph, so that I can save time and effort, and which so eloquently sums up the specific topic of criminal liability to which I am referring, is taken directly from Sarah Bird at SEOMOZ:

"Gambert owns Tosonoe875.com and claims he received an email about search engine optimization on July 27, 1997. This is way out of left field. Gambert includes a printout from Wikipedia that states that the first known use of "search engine optimization" was a spam message posted on Usenet on July 26, 1997. Then he attaches an email from a nonsense aol email to a nonsense tosonoe875.com email address allegedly delivered on July 27, 1997. Then he attaches GoDaddy information showing that he owns Tosonoe875.com. This effort is so misguided that it's hard to know where to begin discussing it. First, an email talking about "Search Engine Optimization" is not evidence that one used the proposed mark "SEO" in commerce. Did he forget what he was trying to register? Further, evidence that you received an email, doesn't prove that you used the term in commerce. It just proves that you received an email. Finally, the WhoIs information for tosonoe875.com shows that it was created in April of this year, not in 1997."

I call bullshit on this one. Remember the drinking game in college? Bullshit? Well I do. Sorry you missed out on that one.

And, pardon my bullshit, but I don't speak French. I speak Texan. And in Texas, we know how to recognize bullshit, and we call it when we see it. Trust me on this one. There is a lot of bullshit in Texas.

And I call bullshit.

Here's why:

1) I want to know how old you are Jason Gambert. And how old you were in 1997. I will file discovery if I have to in order to uncover this. I call bullshit.

2) You were on USENET in 1997? I call bullshit. By 1997, we SEO's were on the Internet, son. You were probably still in diapers. I was a latecomer using Netscape in 1993. Started my business in 1995.

3) Your "GoDaddy" receipt which claims you owned tosonoe875.com at that time is a fake. In 1997, GoDaddy did not exist. It was formed in 1997 as JoMax Technologies by Bob Parsons, and this is according to your favorite source wikipedia. You have just committed a Federal crime, my friend. It's called perjury. COUNT 1.

4) The WHOIS information for the domain tosonoe875.com indicates it was only registered last month. You have falsified evidence to the PTO examiner, attempting to make it look like you had this domain and received this spam USENET post in 1997. That is COUNT 2 of perjury.

5) In 1997, to the best of my knowledge, and I know because I registered my first domain of mightyhorns.com (a now defunct Texas Longhorn fansite)in 1995 or 1996 at the latest. And the only domain registrar at the time that I know of was Network Solutions. Until 1998.

Anyway, major interruption. I am not going to finish this thing. Because, I have more breaking news on Jason Gambert. Our trap has just been sprung, so off to the next post...but it sucks that I can't finish this, however, I think I'll just let the U.S. Attorney deal with it for now on.




Labels:

Read more!

Sunday, May 04, 2008

Microsoft Yodles Goodbye to Yahoo...For Now

On Saturday, Microsoft retracted its offer to buy Yahoo after last minute talks between Yahoo co-founders Jerry Yang and David Filo and Microsoft executives Steve Ballmer and Kevin Johnson. Microsoft was willing to pay $33 per share for Yahoo for a total acquisition cost of $47.5 billion, up from the last offer of $29 per share. "Clearly a deal is not to be" wrote Ballmer in a letter to Yang transmitted late in the day on Saturday.

Yahoo's board had wanted $53 billion, which amounts to $37 per share. At that price, almost double the value of Yahoo's stock when the takeover discussions started a few months ago, Microsoft evidently did not see the transaction as lucrative.

Additionally, it appears that Microsoft will not make good on its threat to take over Yahoo through a hostile purchase of stock on the open market, known as a proxy battle. With sufficient ownership of Yahoo stock acquired through a proxy battle, Microsoft could have replaced Yahoo's board with a more acquisition friendly board. However, Microsoft has determined a proxy battle to be "not sensible" as Yahoo would have likely taken steps during the proxy battle which would make them "undesirable as an acquisition".

But don't think the discussions are over. If Yahoo is unable to successfully manage a turnaround and its stock prices drop into the low teens, Microsoft would likely make another offer later this year, which may be more difficult for Yahoo to turn away from.

Facts from this article taken from various third party online sources, including the Associated Press and the Austin American-Statesman.

Labels:

Read more!